DOJ Pride 2018 Awards Ceremony


DOJ Pride invites all of its members to join us as we recognize the 2018 recipients of our James R. Douglass and Gerald B. Roemer awards.

Date and location of the awards ceremony:

Tuesday, June 26, 2018
4:30 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Liberty Square Building
Room 9429
450 5th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20004

James R. Douglass Award Recipient: John Elias

The James R. Douglass award recognizes contributions to the work-life environment of the Department’s LGBT employees. Established in 1997, the award is named in honor of Jim Douglass, a founding member of DOJ Pride who died in 1996. Jim was an openly-gay HIV- positive employee of the Justice Management Division for many years of his career in the Federal Government.

Gerald B. Roemer Award Recipients: Dr. Sandy James and the 2015 Transgender Survey Team

The Gerald B. Roemer award recognizes contributions to the broader LGBT community. Established in 1998, the Roemer Award recalls the life of Jerry Roemer, who died in 1997 from complications of AIDS. After receiving his HIV diagnosis, Jerry chose to complete law school and then began a career with the Department of Justice.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s